The 2019 PIN Conference was held at Norway House in Brussels on 19June, 2019. ETRA frequently attends these events to keep in contact with stakeholders in the road infrastructure sectors who have shown interest in the use of RTMs and who concerned with road planning, infrastructure development and long term maintenance programmes.

Words of welcome were given by Rolf Einar Fife, Norway's Ambassador to the EU; Prof. Herman De Croo, ETSC President; Prof. Dr. Walter Eichendorf, President of the Geman Road Safety Council (DVR); Jacques Pieraerts, Vice-President of Toyota Motor Europe.

The Keynote Speech was offered by Violeta Bulc, Transport Commissioner of the European Commission.

The ETSC’s Road Safety Performance Index (PIN) programme was set up in 2006 as a response to the first road safety target set by the European Union to halve road deaths between 2001 and 2010. In 2010, the European Union renewed its commitment to reduce road deaths by 50% by 2020, compared to 2010 levels.

By comparing Member State performance, the PIN serves to identify and promote best practice and inspire the kind of political leadership needed to deliver a road transport system that is as safe as is practicable.

The PIN covers all relevant areas of road safety including road user behaviour, infrastructure and vehicles, as well as road safety policymaking. Each year ETSC publishes PIN ‘Flash’ reports on specific areas of road safety. All PIN report are available at

In June each year ETSC’s analysis of overall annual progress on tackling road deaths and serious injuries is published in the PIN Annual Report. The report covers 32 countries, including all EU Member States.

Each year ETSC hosts the PIN conference which is also the platform for the presentation of the PIN Award to the best performing country. ETSC, together with its national Members, also organises PIN Talks in several Member States each year, most recently in Croatia.

The PIN programme receives financial support from the German Road Safety Council (DVR), Toyota Motor Europe, the Swedish Transport Administration, the Draeger Foundation, the Norwegian Public Roads Administration and CITA, the International Motor Vehicle Inspection Committee.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.